Formatting and Customizing Broadcasts with HTML, CSS and/or Filter Tags

Adm Golub shared this question 3 months ago
Completed

Hello. I am new to YellowFin. YF is the BI Product where I work, and I am trying to use it to send broadcasts with a lot of information in them to a lot of different individuals. The people we are trying to reach do not have a lot of time and the emails as is are hard to read and confusing. I want to make them easier to read with formatting and individualization.

My questions are:

1. Can I use CSS and HTML within the Email Body of the broadcast?
  2. Can I customize the email Subject Line and Body of the broadcast with filter tags [filter: Agency]?

Thank you for any help that you can offer.

Replies (3)

photo

Hi Adam,

Thanks for reaching out to support with your questions. And welcome to the Yellowfin Community. Wondering if your organization has taken advantage of Yellowfin University training or extended services as per contract? You may be entitled to some complementary education along with a block of hours for personalized content creation assistance through our consulting partners in this case, this is a great way to get "on your feet" with the product so to speak.

1. Custom HTML "should" work in email body; that said I could imagine the underlying email formatting may interfere with the custom codde you are trying to use. You can submit any specific issues you might encounter though a unique ticket; the simpler the code the better for replication purposes in this case. I believe we also have an idea request for "full email customization" as opposed to using the default YF email style if that sounds more like what you're aiming to achieve, I can get you added to that task.

2. Yes the subject can include filter tags, here is an example -

2a9bbe4f89f7f87f8756f6adc76d2f87

That said there have been caveats to this function with certain filter setups, this was fixed in 8.0.10 for example