Yellowfin 9 Data format for Upload License endpoint

Ryan Malesevich shared this question 3 years ago
Answered

We are starting to explore Yellowfin 9 and upgrading our deployment to using Docker/Kubernetes. As part of that, we are exploring using automation to set up the development environments locally on our machines. Through the Docker instructions we have it running but the first thing that would need to be done is to upload the license file. I'm working with the REST API. I was successful in getting the Refresh Token and Access Token, but I've got a question on the expectation of the format on the Upload a new license endpoint: In the CURL example there is the --form with:

--form 'newLicence=Binary data would go here;type=application/octet-stream' \
I'm not an expert on submitting binary data with REST endpoints. What format is Yellowfin expecting? I've tried a few things based on wild google searching but am getting a 500 error.
I'm using Powershell and this is what I've got so far:
$Header = @{
  "Authorization" = "YELLOWFIN ts=$ts, nonce=$uuid, token=$AccessToken"
  "Content-Type" = "multipart/form-data"
  "Accept" = "application/vnd.yellowfin.api-v1+json;"
  "cache-control" = "no-cache"
}
$LicenseContent = [System.IO.File]::ReadAlltext(".\license.lic")
$LicenseEncoded = [Convert]::ToBase64String([System.Text.Encoding]::UTF8.GetBytes($LicenseContent))

$Parameters = @{
  Method = "POST"
  Uri = "http://localhost/api/rpc/license-management/upload-license"
  Headers = $Header
  Body = "newLicense=$LicenseEncoded;type=application/octet-stream"
}
$response = Invoke-RestMethod @Parameters
I've tried to pass in the regular text. I've done base64 (this is how we were having to upload the report content with the YF8 SOAP services). It's returning an HTTP 500 error. The logs I'm seeing on Docker are:
YF:2021-03-01 18:33:16.733: INFO (ErrorAction) - [37] [Background] [/api/rpc/license-management/upload-license] ErrorAction entered