Ability to Reset Password Every 30-60-90 etc. Days

Tony Ursino shared this idea 5 years ago
Completed

As an administrator, I would like to enforce how often passwords must be reset. Many organizations require users to change passwords every 30-60-90 days. Currently in YF; I can enforce the length and configuration requirements, but can't not enter a duration (days) which a password expires. This limitation places the use of the application as 'non-compliant' with our IT/Security Team.

Replies (9)

photo

Hi Tony,

Thanks for reaching out. There is currently no option to set passwords to expire every X days, however, there is an existing internal enhancement request for such functionality, so I've gone ahead and updated that task to include you as a client in favor of this enhancement. We do not have this linked to a public Idea ticket yet though, so is it okay if I go ahead and change this to an Idea ticket so this can be referenced publicly in our Community so that others may potentially "thumbs up" and comment on it? Doing such may increase likelihood of this idea being chosen for future development.

That said, while there is no option to make passwords expire in this way, it is possible to set a specific expiration date, by changing the value of EndDate columns for the corresponding user in the 'ipclass' table:

/j85tc8uSXHHxwAAAABJRU5ErkJggg==

Hopefully this is a suitable workaround for you.

Thanks,

Mike

photo

Hi Tony,

Actually, the EndDate applies to the user account expiring itself, so you wouldn't want to use that. The way to trigger a password reset is to change the PasswordExpired value from 0 to 1, but there's no way to trigger this every X days as requested here from within YF's UI automatically. You could use some sort of third party task scheduler to execute an UPDATE statement to reset passwords every X days in the meantime though.

Regards,

Mike

photo

Is there a 'last updated' date for passwords which a scriptcould run off of?