User Roles- Limit Report Writer to 'Create or Copy'

Tony Ursino shared this idea 5 years ago
Not Planned

With YF v7.4; is there a proper user role configuration which will allow 'report admins' to create report templates which a 'report writer' can't delete or update- but can 'copy', then modify per their own requirements. Additionally 'report writers' can create/edit/delete their own ad hoc reports.

Use case: As a YF admin, I would like to create various report templates- but ensure other YF users can't edit or delete my original report versions.

Replies (7)

photo

Hi Tony,

Thanks for reaching out with your question. I did some testing and came to the same conclusion as you; user roles do not provide the access granularity to "make a copy" but not "edit" unfortunately. However, there are other ways to accomplish this, and I believe your best option would be to leverage Yellowfin's Folder Security options.

As an administrator, you could create a Private Folder containing your report templates, and in turn create copies of the report templates in other locations with your desired access permissions. I've attached screenshots illustrating the process of creating and configuring a folder structure that would achieve the functionality you're looking for. Does this sound like a viable alternative to you?

Thanks,

Eric

photo

So it sounds like as an Admin I would need to manage two sets of reports (the original, and the copies). The drawback to this approach is managing possibly two versions of the same report if changes/updates aren't applied to each individual report.

photo

In the case where a user were to copy the 'template' report, they would then be able to modify this per their own requirements. If it were intended that such a report would be kept up-to-date with the template, the admin would have to manage all copies of said template. Hopefully this clarifies things for you.

Thanks,

Eric

photo

Hi Tony,