YellowFin Version Control for reporting

Abhishek shared this question 3 years ago
Answered

Hello,

Is there any version control mechanism that is implemented/ can be implemented for YellowFin Reports?

It could be very helpful when we transit from one environment to another and ensure consistency across.

Replies (4)

photo

Hi Abhishek,

Thanks for reaching out to support with your question. I'm thinking you would like to see this mechanism as part of the report import process? Currently when importing old content into a newer version, I receive this message -

e32fec01357731698fa88c49c36fd60a

Is my understanding correct here?

If so, I can check with the team to see if this would be a possibility, and whether this might be an existing task or included on a bigger roadmap. I'm not a developer but it could be a tall order to implement a "report upgrader" process that could re-structure the xml file, based on the build info, I'd think it could be possible however... conversely it's possible that we already have some of that functionality in place, and it's a simply matter of getting all the specific "import issues" identified and fixed. I'll see what our overall policy on this is currently. But it does sound like I'm following here?

Thanks,

Eric

photo

Hi Eric,

I am sorry to say, but you guessed it wrong. :)

I am talking about the version control i.e. having all the edits and historical versions (snapshots) of the project. So any moment I feel to lookup my earlier version or compare the earlier version with the latest ones, I could do that.

With this chat, I sense, this feature is not available. An integration with any version control software like TFS, SVN, Azure Repository, Git would be very helpful. Plus this might also work well with CI-CD.

Could you please take these suggestion with your development team? Hoping to see a nice upgrade in the upcoming version.

Regards,

Abhishek

photo